top
From the Open-Publishing Calendar
From the Open-Publishing Newswire
Indybay Feature
Related Categories: East Bay | Government & Elections | Police State and Prisons View other events for the week of 4/25/2017
Stop Urban Shield: All Out to Berkeley City Council
Date Tuesday April 25
Time 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location Details
Berkeley Old City Hall
Allston & MLK, Berkeley
Event Type Protest
Organizer/AuthorAROC
In an unprecedented move, the Berkeley City Council is considering fully withdrawing their participation in Urban Shield. A decision in favor of pulling out of Urban Shield by the Berkeley City Council paves the way for other cities in the Bay Area to do the same. Join us on Tuesday to show mass opposition to Urban Shield's war on our communities.

Can't attend on Tuesday? Support with CALL IN DAY: Monday, April 24th,.
Call Berkeley City Council and demand that they end police militarization. Here is sample call in language and contact info:

"Dear Councilperson _________,
I am writing to urge you and all Berkeley City Council members to take leadership in putting an end to Berkeley's engagement with the militarization of police and disaster preparedness represented by the annual Urban Shield exercises and weapons expo, funded by DHS through the Urban Areas Security Initiative. Urban Shield's emphasis on SWAT teams as the response to emergencies - including natural disasters - as well as the extremely militarized scenarios, diminishes resources for responding to the ordinary emergencies community members face every day. Berkeley should not be participating in war games funded by the Department of Homeland Security, which involve not only nine Bay Area counties, but teams from around the United States.That is why I ask you to exercise your leadership and reject any future funding from UASI, Berkeley's participation in Urban Shield, and to stand with Alameda County communities, and people across the country.
Regards,
_______"

CONTACT INFO FOR BERKELEY CITY COUNCIL MEMBERS

Map of Berkeley Council Districts

Mayor Jesse Arreguin/ (510) 981-7100 / mayor [at] cityofberkeley.info
District 1/Linda Miao/(510) 981-7110 /  lmaio [at] cityofberkeley.info /
District 2/Cheryl Davila/ (510) 981-7120 / cdavila [at] cityofberkeley.info
District 3/  Ben Bartlett/ (510) 981-7130 / bbartlett [at] CityofBerkeley.info
District 4/ Kate Harrison / (510) 981-7140 / kharrison [at] CityofBerkeley.info
District 5 / Sophie Hahn/ 510) 981-7150 / shahn [at] CityofBerkeley.info
District 6 / Susan Wengraf / (510) 981-7160 / swengraf [at] CityofBerkeley.info
District 7/ Kris Worthington / (510) 981-7170 / kworthington [at] CityofBerkeley.info
District 8/  Lori Droste / (510) 981-7180 / ldroste [at] CityofBerkeley.info
sm_stop-urban-shield.jpg
Added to the calendar on Thursday Apr 20th, 2017 5:57 PM

Comments  (Hide Comments)

by UPDATE
Tuesday Apr 25th, 2017 1:52 PM
This has been cancelled - Council agenda item has been postponed until May 16th.
by ???
Tuesday Apr 25th, 2017 5:40 PM
I looked at the Berkeley city council agenda for tonight (April 25) but could NOT find any notice of postponement. Where does the notice of postponement come from? Need confirmation.
Stop Urban Shield wrote, "The Berkeley City Council vote regarding pulling out of Urban Shield has been POSTPONED. The item will be discussed on MAY 16th. Please mark your calendars and use this additional few weeks to organize your organizations and communities to show up strong on Tuesday, May 16th and support the City of Berkeley in their bold move to be the first city to end its participation in the militarization exercises and training."
https://www.facebook.com/events/1845764385688714/permalink/1856175451314274/

@berkeleyside reports: "There are 50 consent calendar items on tonight's #berkmtg agenda. We hear Urban Shield item ... will be postponed."
https://twitter.com/berkeleyside/status/857058448864821249

@berkeleyside also reports, "The Buddhist Peace Fellowship is here outside the council meeting to protest Urban Shield/UASI funding. #berkmtg"
https://twitter.com/berkeleyside/status/857045321737617408